XP and leveling up

August 15, 2011 § 1 Comment

So I’ve been working on this blog for a little while before finally unleashing it upon the world. I also had a bit of an epiphany last night: I like RPGs. OK, that in itself isn’t an epiphany, but the fact that I could use this to fuel my little experiment is.

Here’s how it works:

LEVEL XP
1 0
2 40
3 85
4 135

And so on and so forth. Each minute contributed to housework, not rounded up, will be a single point of XP. As I’ve already done some skirmish battles in the bedroom and living room while getting this blog ready, I’ve earned 31 XP. That does mean I’m still solidly at level one, but I should level-up soon. Yay!

Of course, no level system would be complete unless there were stats to boost with each level. So I’ve given myself three stats that will fit the theme of this blog: Tidy, Clean, and Organize. (To differentiate, I’m defining Tidy as lack of clutter, Clean as lack of dirt, and Organize as having a place for everything and keeping it there. They’re all interrelated but slightly different things.) With each level up, I’ll get two points to apply toward the stats of my choice. Right now, at level one, I have zero points for each stat.

Now, these stats aren’t going to do any good unless they help me in some way. How will a tidiness stat actually help me stay tidy? Each stat point equals 10 real-world dollars. I can spend my stat points to splurge on products that will help me out in a particular area.

For example, let’s say I really want a Roomba. This particular model is $300 dollars. A Roomba will help me keep dirt off my floors. Therefore, I’ll need to earn 30 points in the Clean stat before I can get my Roomba. If I pour every single point I earn into Clean, it will take me 15 levels to earn my Roomba. That means I’ll have to do 1,015 minutes of total housework, or 16 hours and 55 minutes.

I will inevitably tinker with this a bit, but I think for an idea that popped into my head as I was falling asleep last night I’ve both remembered it very well and made it reasonably workable.

§ One Response to XP and leveling up

  • This is AWESOME!!

    We have more of a competitive system – if you do at least 10 minutes of chores (dishes and cooking don’t count), you get to put your name in the calendar for that day. At the end of the month, whoever has their name in the calendar the most number of times gets $50. It’s heartbreaking when someone wins by just one or two…

    But I love your system! I think we may steal some parts of it…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading XP and leveling up at Diary of a Messy Lady.

meta

