Back to school shopping

August 23, 2011 § Leave a comment

It’s that time of year again. Time for back to school clothes shopping.

Because the munchkin won’t wear anything that isn’t festooned with sparkles, we went to Justice this year. Painstakingly picking out and putting together outfit after outfit, making sure there were the right number of sparkles, listening to Keelin complain about the boys in the store… Damn I love to hate the mall.

image

She doesn’t have bad fashion sense, even if it is a bit Barbie. But the thought keeps coming back to me… Does the fact that she revels in looking pretty and sparkly make me a bad feminist? We did her school supplies shopping online this morning. She insisted that everything be pink.

image

At one point, as I left the dressing room to put something that didn’t fit back on the rack, Keelin peeked around the door and asked, “Mommy, what body type am I?”

“What?” I countered her question with my always-useful, buy-me-some-time wit. “Why are you asking?”

“Because I want to know what body type I am,” she answered, as if it were the most obvious thing in the world.

“You’re eight,” I said. I was hoping this would settle the matter, but Keelin piped up again. “We’ll talk about it when I get back in the dressing room, OK?”

By the time I returned, she was onto something else. I don’t know if she sensed that I didn’t like the question and so chose to keep it to herself or if she had simply forgotten about it as soon as she remembered that My FroYo exists.

image

I’m sick of having to fight against all of society and popular culture telling my daughter that she isn’t beautiful enough. You know what? FUCK YOU, CULTURE! Whether or not my daughter is beautiful doesn’t fucking matter!

What matters?
– She’s kind, and speaks from the heart
– She’s quick-witted and funny
– She’s intelligent and loves learning
– She’s in love with the sky, stars, black holes, etc. and wants to be an astronomer when she grows up
– She can kick my ass at fighting games

What doesn’t matter?
– Her body type

I’m still a bit shaken and unsure if I should bring it up or not. On the one hand, I don’t want to make it seem like a big deal if it isn’t really a big deal to her. On the other hand, I don’t want her to think that all this bullshit that’s coming in is correct.

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Back to school shopping at Diary of a Messy Lady.

meta

