Today and yesterday didn’t happen

August 26, 2011 § Leave a comment

At least, that’s what we’re going to pretend. You see, I’m making excuses here, but here’s what happened:

Wednesday nights and D&D nights. While we weren’t playing D&D this last Wednesday, due to a couple of group members not being able to make it, the rest of us still decided to get together and play Apples to Apples. Now when we get together there’s always a little drinking and mild ribaldry; even though not all of us could make it, that didn’t change.

But since we weren’t playing D&D and so spend quite a bit of time away from the table, I forgot my phone…on the table. My DM didn’t see it yesterday, so he wasn’t able to drop it off to me at work. He should have it for me today, but let’s be honest with ourselves and admit that after a long day of work I’m not exactly going to come home and time myself doing housework.

“Wait,” you may be saying, “why do you need your phone to do housework? That seems silly.” The truth is that I don’t need my phone to do housework. I need my phone to time the housework as I have a stopwatch app on it. You see, and anyone who knows me can back this up 1000%, I have a turrible sense of time. Also, my watch is analog so I wouldn’t be able to keep track of the minutes very precisely.

One of the things that I’ve been pleasantly surprised to discover throughout this experiment is how little time minor cleaning actually takes. I get done with the most boring chore on Earth, something that I’m certain has taken a minimum of 10 minutes, and find that only two have passed. I’d like to keep up that positive reinforcement as well as not cheat on my XP.

All right, I’m done making excuses now.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Today and yesterday didn’t happen at Diary of a Messy Lady.

meta

